RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2007

neck, shoulder, and upper back pain

I have been riding my Cannondale Synapse 56cm for several years now. Over the last six or so months, upper back, neck and shoulders have become increasingly sore during rides over 35 miles. Now it is to the point where upper back and shoulders and neck are sore all of the time. I have had to discontinue riding for the time being. Am doing yoga physical therapy to improve upper back flexibility as I have a curved upper back and I must crane my neck even when riding on the tops of handlebars or on the hoods, forget about the drops. Have tried a 45 stem but even that feels uncomfortable because it brings the handlebars closer to the seat does not extend forward enough for me to stretch out to my liking. My old 8 degree 110mm stem feels better, even though its lower. But either way, I can't ride with this pain..
    I am 5-10 and conventional wisdom says that a 56 CM is my correct frame size. I must do something to get my riding position more upright. Even with the 45 stem, handlebars are still below level of the seat. I thought of getting a fork with 300 or 330 mm steerer order to get position of high enough. The problem with that would seem to be that I would need to use too many Shims between the stem and the steer tube.
    The fact that I am 54 years old has me thinking that maybe I need to either hang it up or ride one of those comfort bikes. I'd have to swallow some serious pride to be seen on one of those.
    Another option might be to try a larger frame bike that wouldn't require the seatpost to be raised so high and could ride in a more upright position.
    Hopefully someone here has some helpful and encouraging words of wisdom. I really want to ride again but it just hurts too much right now.
    Thanks,

RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2005