RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2007

New Endurance Bike Build, what do you reccomend?

I am a rider who usually gets a new road bike every three years. I ride about 4-5K per year in the Missouri Ozarks with some hills. I like new technology of bikes and enjoy the new ideas that come on the newer bikes. I am an older guy (58) and do a little senior racing and mostly group riding. Not real small (6' 185 lbs) and do enjoy a a more up right rides but also like to go fast. I presently am running a 2014 Giant defy O with Ultegra DI-2 with some upgrade Reynolds 46 carbon wheels. Looking for a similar endurance geometry CF light bike to build up for the next season. I am an engineer and and do all of my own maintenance so probably looking for a new frame that I plan on getting the new Shimano DI-2 R8070 groupset on.

So looking for some suggestions for frames of this type. Would mind going a little lighter so maybe a Hi mod type of frame to pull the weight down.

So far have been looking at 1)Trek Domane SL or SLR; 2) Giant Defy Pro Or Pro SL; 3) Cannondale Synapse Hi-Mod. Any body have any thought about these our others? I like to buy this time of the year as you can normally get pretty good deals on bikes and frames this time of the year.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Iím in process of working out the details on an order for a Domane SLR project one. Iím 50 and was looking for something endurance like you. Thatís the direction Iíll be going. I think the iso speed is compelling and look forward to giving it a try.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

JSR
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2006
    I ride a Domane SL. Itís lived up to all my expectations re comfort, performance, etc.

I must say, though, at 19 lbs (54cm, discs, Ultegra mech) itís not light weight. That includes Vision Metron 40 cf wheels. Having said that, it was lighter than those other choices in stock factory-built trim.

RoadBikeReview Member