RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2015

Noob Looking for a Bike; Have a Few in Mind

Hey y'all,

I'm primarily an MTBer, so while I'm not technically a beginner, my knowledge is somewhat so. I have an 160mm Enduro bike, a 120mm Trail 29er, and currently have a 2014 Fuji Roubaix that's a little too big for me sitting on a trainer. On a good week, I'll ride 70 dirt miles, with 15k of climbing. Mainly for MTB purposes (fitness, base miles) I want a road bike good for a once a week 50+ and a once in a while century, at best. I live in Los Angeles, where we have plenty of great road climbs and descents, and a year-round riding season.

I'm not too terribly hung up on Endurance vs Race geometry or weight but budget is a bit of a concern. Looking to stay under 2k, if at all possible, and the bikes below fit that description. Help me decide?

Canyon Endurance CF SL Disc 7.0 $2,000 - carbon frame/fork, 105 drivetrain/disc brakes, DT Swiss E1800 wheels

Orbea Orca M20i
    $2,000 - carbon frame/fork, Ultegra Di2(!) drivetrain, Ultegra rim brakes, Vision Team 30 Comp clincher wheels

Pinarello Gan 105 Disc $1,850 - carbon frame/fork, 105 drivetrain, Shimano mech. disc brakes, Fulcrum Sports DB AFS wheels

Ribble R872 Mavic SE $1,350 - carbon frame/fork, 105 drivetrain/rim brakes, Mavic Aksium wheels

The Ribble looks like the best value with plenty of really good reviews, the Orca looks like the best spec, the Canyon looks sexy AF, and the Pinarello is the only one I actually got to throw a leg over, albeit a size too big. Pretty sure I'll be happy with any of these, but given the hive mind's knowledge of carbon, geometry, and reputation of these companies, what sets these apart? Any one of them jump out as a no brainer either way?

And if there's a bike out there that I'm missing, I'm all ears.

Thank you!

Russian Troll Farmer
    Not commenting on any of the bikes in particular, but expect to pay a fairly decent customs tariff on the Ribble bike.
    "L'enfer, c'est les autres"