RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2016

Options for first aero carbon bike

First of all, this is not intended to be a troll seeking thread, I've read a fair share of the chinese carbon thread and understand the risk involved in it. So i would appreciate an unbiased opinion in this matter and not just straight off telling me its unsafe and etc.

Consider my circumstances, I am a lowly student that take part in races occasionally, but generally riding for fitness and seeing how fast I could go.

I'm planning to upgrade to the first carbon road bike from my aluminium road bike (served me for 4 years now) with shimano 105 parts which weighs around 10kg.

So here's the question, Should i ever consider chinese carbon (from a reputable source) or just bite the bullet and get a merida reacto 4000 or somewhere along those lines (giant propel or etc)

I have a budget of 1800-2000 USD. (but more savings is definitely better)

p.s. I apologise if this has been asked before (i just want an updated opinion on this matter for the year of 2017)
    Last edited by avria; 2 Weeks Ago at 06:13 AM.

RoadBikeReview Member
    I bought a Chinese carbon frame on alibaba about three years ago. I wanted cheap as I have good steel and Ti bikes but for races and group rides I wanted a lighter throw away frame. The thing is I really like the light weight and feel of it. I bought a slightly older model on close out with no cosmetic touches, just a bare frame and fork with seat post and headset for about $380 shipped to my door and don't regret a cent of it. But know the risks and be don't have high expectations. Buying a "name" brand secondhand is another option for you. Are you going to transplant the parts across and then update as they wear out? It's what I normally do.
    here are the before and after shots of the bike. slightly different cockpit now.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Options for first aero carbon bike-unnamed.jpg   Options for first aero carbon bike-img_4799.jpg