RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2011

Post purchase justification, spousal approval edition

I've been riding for a couple of years now on a well sorted Vitus 979 (Shimano 600 including brifters, Ambrosio wheelset, Romin saddle, etc.) which I do love but even at my small size is a bit flexy as well as not very upgradeable with its threaded fork, 25mm seatpost and 126mm rear end.

I've been itching for something a bit more modern since I'd eventually like to try racing but can't really afford anything particularly high end. I had been searching for a used carbon framed bike like a Trek 5xxx or Fuji TCR with at least Ultegra level components in good enough shape to move to a different frame should the opportunity arise but after a few weeks of scouring CL and Ebay I had yet to find anything that fit the bill. Most of my rides are solo <50M with a fair amount of interval work involved so absolute comfort not required but I was definitely looking for something that's not a filling rattler.

So a couple of days ago I decided to expand my search to include high end alloy and came across this NOS Orbea Lobular in a reserve auction. I threw a lowish bid in and won the auction but the Reserve was not met. Imagine my surprise when the next day I got a message telling me that I got a Second Chance offer from the seller at exactly my winning bid price of $800 shipped. I went ahead and paid for it and this is what's on the way, what say you RBR, how did I do? Please know that this feedback, if appropriate will be used to help sell the boss on the wisdom of this transaction who has been ignorant of this search.

Model: Orbea Lobular 50
    Year: 2005
    Color: blue/white
    Size: 51cm.

Frame: Columbus 6000 tubing with Zeus carbon seat stays
    Fork: Zeus carbon
    Headset: FSA
    Stem: Deda aluminum 90mm
    Handlebars: 3T aluminum 40cm
    Tape: Fizik
    Brakes: Shimano Ultegra 6700
    Brake levers: Shimano Ultegra 6700
    Front derailleur: Shimano Ultegra 6700