RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2008

Purchasing advice: 2007 Giant TCR C2 or 2008 Bianchi Via Nirone ALU/Carbon?

Hello,

I'm new to the biking world. About 8 weeks ago I started going around to different bike shops in my local area. My first round of trips was to check out bikes Ė try to learn a little more about bikes, and ultimately determine if I really wanted to make a purchase. The primary reason I want a bike is for triathlons. I do mostly sprint distances but plan to do a couple Olympic level distance triathlons each year.

I decided I wanted a road bike which Iíll equip for aero bars. The reason being is I donít want to be limited in what I do with my bike Ė I want the flexibility of doing what I want with my bike (enter any kind of race/join any biking group). After one round to local shops I circled back and started riding bikes that interested me after confirming online it was a bike that met my needs. My price range is $1k-$2k. Now that Iíve ridden about 10 bikes Iíve narrowed my choices down to two. Iím 5ft 8 Ė 150lbs.

2007 Giant TCR C2: http://www.giant-bicycles.com/en-US/bikes/road/2/11456/
    $1850

2008 Bianchi Via Nirone ALU/Carbon: http://www.bianchiusa.com/08_c2c_nirone_ultegra.html
    $1650

Based on my primary usage plans Ė a full carbon bike is probably not something I need. However, Iím wondering if getting a full carbon bike for $200 more is worth the extra money? The TCR C2 is originally a $2300 bike. Also, anyone have an opinion on these two bikes and which one would be better for my needs? You can see the components are pretty comparable. The bikes come from two different shops. I wish I could ride back-to-back but that isnít an option in this case.

Thanks for your help ahead of timeÖ

EW

Fat'r + Slow'r than TMB