RoadBikeReview Member

Renovo wood frames - I want one!

There was a thread 6 months ago about Renovo and their wood bikes:

Wood Frames... now cliche free!!

Shortly thereafter, I got to see them at the Seattle Bike Expo. I can say that in-person, their bikes are drop-dead gorgeous, at least imho. According to the guy I talked to, they make them out of hard woods that normal woodworking tools would break. Since I am no expert, and don't know anything about Bubinga, Lyptus, or Paduak hardwoods, I'll just have to take their wood for it that these are good materials to build bikes out of.

I was reminded of them as they got a pic on Velonews here:

http://velonews.com/photo/97025

It turns out that they have test rides available... and in my area. I think I need to schedule a ride.

Cervelo Soloist Carbon / Look 585 / Look 555 / Redline Conquest Pro / Kona Kapu / Santa Cruz Blur / Torker U-District / Custom fixie

http://www.BloggersInc.com/CycloPath/

kytyree
    Hmm, interesting. I bet my old man could tackle that project if I gave him some specs for sensitive parts. Too bad he's got enough projects already.

Yet Vertically Compliant
    Quote Originally Posted by ChilliConCarnage
    TAccording to the guy I talked to, they make them out of hard woods that normal woodworking tools would break. Since I am no expert, and don't know anything about Bubinga, Lyptus, or Paduak hardwoods,
    That might be a little bit of marketing hype. Padauk is my favorite wood to work with (smells kinda like sweet pipe tobacco when you cut it). It's no harder on tools than any other common hardwood. Bubinga wears down your cutting surfaces faster than, say, hard maple, but it doesn't 'break' the tools.

That being said, Renovo's bikes are drop-dead gorgeous, and the joinery and other workmanship on the bikes I've seen at their displays were top-notch.

Making memories