RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2011

Road bike for occasional triathlon

I have been riding for about two years on a 2006 Trek 1000 and I am ready to upgrade. I'm a recreational rider and complete (no chance of winning, just doing for fun) a few triathlons a year.

I want to upgrade a step in bikes either new, used, or old stock new. I was considering getting a triathlon bike but I think I will be better served with a road bike and adding clip on aero bars, seems more versatile to me.

What bikes would you recommend for recreational (including century rides) but also doing tris? I was thinking maybe a Cervelo as they seem to be designed to be more aerodynamic. But this is just my novice observation.

I'm looking to spend somewhere between $1000-1500 and don't mind searching/waiting for a really good deal.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2005
    At my girlfriends last Tri, the guy that won the mens division was on an older Giant TCR carbon, with clip-on aero bars ... I think he averaged 25.5mph. So, yes it can be done.

Since you plan to do centuries, I would focus on finding something with geometry that works for you (obviously), and a more compliant ride.

Fecal indicator
    not sure how much the bike matters if you're only doing an occasional tri effort.

I did the cycling leg of a team tri this wkend on a bone-stock 20-yr old Specialized Allez Epic...not exactly cutting-edge light-weight racing equipment, but still managed to place second in the division with a 19.5 mph avg.

my observation was that a lot of the wkend warrior tri geeks didn't seem all that savvy about how to be competitive on a bike.

altho some riders were very dialed in, saw others with some crazy cadences, lots of coasting, riding with enough water bottles to cross the Sahara, sitting upright while using aero bars, etc...

so, honing your riding technique would probably help as much or more than a new bike.

just my two centavos...
    eff all y'all...

RoadBikeReview Member
    Mar 2008