RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2011

Scott CR1 SL vs. S-Works Roubaix???

I'm in the market for a framset this year. These two framsets advertise the same sort of ride..."plush". Both are designed to sit you in a little more comfortable position and both absorb road chatter. Anyone got an opinion? The Scott is about $2300 and the S-works is $3000. (BTW...why the large price difference??)

My components will be 2008 Shimano Ultegra SL, Topolino CX2.0 Wheels, and ControlTech carbon stem/seat/handlebar.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2010
    I have no experience on the Spesh, but I owned a CR1 for some time and thoroughly enjoyed it. I really only ride on the road for mtb training, so I was interested in a more comfortable bike to put in the miles on. This guy really impressed me! It is extremely light, tracks/handles very well, but at the same time is very comfortable.

I'd say you're paying the premium for the brand name on the Speshy, not sure though. The Scott is one heck of a bike, and it would take a whole heck of a lot to make me $700 more for anything else on the market.
    Cannondale Scalpel 1
    Haro Ally SS 29er

I need a road bike!

Re-Cyclist
    Maybe you're comparing the wrong models. Try the comparison with the Roubaix Expert or Pro. Probably more equivalent to the CR1 SL?
    Santa Barbara, CA -- My Photo Site -- My Business Site

RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2011
    Unless I'm mistaken, the S-works Roubaix is the same geometry and everything as the Roubaix Expert or Pro, except for the carbon prepreg used. To me, the comparison is pretty good, since both the S-works and CR1 Sl are the two companys' top-of-the-line "endurance" bikes.

I test rode the CR1 SL today. It's a very aggressive geometry, and was a little "twitchy" if you know what I mean. For comparison I rode an Addict R2, and I actually felt more comfortable on the Addict.

Just Plain Bitter