RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2006

Scott Speedster S40 VS KHS Flite 700

Hey Everyone;
    So glad I found the forums here, I look forward to spending many hours reading over the valuable info in past posts.

So I've been riding for about 6 months on a department store hybrid. I thought this would last me a year or two. I now realize that my skill and ability have outgrown the bike very quickly. So; time to upgrade!

I've tested two at my LBS 2006 Scott Speedster S40 and KHS Flite 700.
    Both feel rather similar in geometry and feel comfortable to ride. The KHS seems to have better shifters and wheels\tires, plus a Carbon seat stay. Scott = $1000CDN KHS = $1200 CDN

Looking for some advice because I'm so green with these kinds of things.

Thanks everyone, looking forward to spending time on the forums!

You're Not the Boss of Me
    At those prices I'd give a nod to the Scott, but neither of those is a bargain. Can you get a better deal on a Canadian bike?
    JESUS IS COMING

... look busy

RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2006
    hmmm. I thought those prices were decent from searching all the stores in my area.
    What is a good canadian bike manufacturer. Garneau?

RoadBikeReview Member
    I have the S60 and I will tell you, that frame rides amazingly for a sub $500 bike. SCOTT knows how to desgin a bike.

If shipping is not to bad to Canda, check these guys out:
    $704 for the S40 (2006 model.)

http://www.nytro.com/SearchResults.asp
    Last edited by DIRT BOY; 10-26-2006 at 06:56 PM.
    DIRT BOY

"Pain is a big fat creature riding on your back. The farther you pedal, the heavier he feels. The harder you push, the tighter he squeezes your chest. The steeper the climb, the deeper he digs his jagged, sharp claws into your muscles." - Scott Martin

You're Not the Boss of Me