RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2005

Specialized Sequoia Elite v. Trek 1500 WSD?

Hi,

I'm a beginner at road biking and am looking into purchasing a new bike with the intent of participating in a 150 and additional (recreational) racing in the future.

I'm 5'3" at 112lbs and am considering a new Trek 1500 WSD. However, I'm considering buying a barely used 2005 model Specialized Sequoia Elite from a g/f of mine. It's a 51cm frame high and 52.5 cm across. I'm getting an excellent deal on the Sequoia (along with some new and gently used gear). I took it for a spin, and it feels ok, but I keep reading that the Sequoia is a good "comfort bike".

My question is: would this bike, or either of these bikes for that matter, take me well into some good long-distance recreational riding in addition to some racing?

RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2005
    Both bikes are definitely fine for recreational riding, in fact there are people on both of these in the group I'm training for a century ride with.

What sizes have you looked at in the Trek? My wife is also 5'3", and she rides a 47 WSD. The top tube length on the Sequoia (the small size I think?) you're looking at is about the same as on a 54 WSD Trek, but the standover is more like the 47 WSD. I leave it to the pros as to what exactly that'll mean for your riding position, but my newbie guess is that it'll be more stretched out due to the longer top tube.

jeff

RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by greenjp
    Both bikes are definitely fine for recreational riding, in fact there are people on both of these in the group I'm training for a century ride with.