RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2011

Trek Madone 4.5 versus Specialized Tarmac Comp 105

I'm a beginner (very beginner) cyclist and am currently training for a sprint triathlon. My long term objective is to move up to olympic distance triathlons.

I'm upgrading my Specialized Allez Sport (I've only had it 3 1/2 months but I'm enjoying myself more than I anticipated so I decided to break my self imposed 12 month waiting period before I upgrade).

I'm trying to decide between the Trek Madone 4.5 versus the Specialized Tarmac Comp 105. My understanding is that both bikes have similar components. The Madone 4.5 doesn't come with a 105 crank or brakes. However, if I buy the Madone, I'll upgrade the crank and brakes at the time of purchase.

This will essentially make the bike costs almost identical at the LBS.

Here are the pro's and con's that come to my mind

Trek Madone 4.5
    Pro - I like the color scheme
    Con - less aggressive frame
    Pro - DuoTrap
    Con - LBS thinks this bike is better for MS150 over triathlons
    Pro - Lance rides a trek. haha

Specialized Tarmac 105
    Pro - LBS feel this is a better bike for Triathlons
    Con - It looks just like the bike I'm upgrading from. I'm paying an extra $1400 and my bike will look the same!!!!
    Pro - I'm comfortable with the geometry of the frame (my allez has the same geometry except it's aluminum)
    Con - color scheme
    Pro - the winner and runner up of the 2010 tour de france road a Tarmac (a much more expensive one) haha

Everyone's 2 cents is greatly appreciated! I'm a newbie cyclist so I know enough to be dangerous. I don't plan on bike racing. However, I do plan on participating in some triathlons. I'm not likely to ride longer than 50 miles and will usually ride less than that.

Thanks in advance for your input

Slightly Opinionated
    Which one fits better?

That is the number one and most important thing to consider before anything else.