RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2010

Trek Pilot 2.1 WSD?

Hey all,

I'm brand new here (both to RBR and cycling), and am looking to get a new bike. I recently got into triathlons and realized that my old commuter mountain bike just wasn't going to do it for me anymore. So I'm hoping to get a decently priced road bike to go on rides out of town and use in tris. More emphasis on weekend/fitness rides than tris.

I went to a couple LBS and test rode a few bikes, one of which was the Trek Pilot 2.1. It was perfect in that, like many people on here have said, it has a more relaxed frame geometry, which makes the transition from a lifetime of mountain bikes to road bikes much easier.

Anywhos, it's still a bit steep in price for me. Mostly I can't justify spending that much money unless I'm sure I'm getting quality stuff. I know the components are pretty good, but I can probably find something else out there that feels good enough for me. I mean, I'm new to this stuff so I can't really notice the quality of the shifters and all that as well as someone who's been riding for years (I did notice some differences when test riding today, so I'm not completely clueless). I want something good/decent that'll last a while is all.

There hasn't been much talk or mention of this Trek Pilot 2.1 bike (or any Trek Pilot for that matter) on the many review sites I've looked up online. Of those that exist, most review older models, like 2007. So, does anyone actually have this bike? What's wrong with it that not many people talk about it?

So...questions...
    1) Are there any other models/brands I should check out? I've tried Trek, Specialized, Felt, and Giant so far. Do you guys have any other suggestions based on my history and plan for the bike?