RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2018

Thumbs down Is the weld separating / cracking on my litespeed frame?!!!? (see pic)

Hi I have a litespeed titanium frame and was wondering this is cracking by the welds. I believe it is but I'm not experienced in this stuff. It looks like the weld is a bit raised in comparison to the other side on one end and possible very small cracking near it all around...I'm not 100% positive but believe this is where a possible creak is coming from which I thought I eliminated but decided to do a really thorough check of everything and found this. I found this hard to spot but getting a close up shot with the camera makes it seem real obvious I guess:

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2004
    Kind of hard to judge without knowing the frame.

If it’s seperating, it should visually open when you stress the frame in a direction stressing the weld.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2018
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve B. View Post
    Kind of hard to judge without knowing the frame.

If it’s seperating, it should visually open when you stress the frame in a direction stressing the weld.
    What about the little tiny looking cracks around the weld. I don't see that on any of the other welds around the frame.

Russian Troll Farmer
    I'd need to look under at lest 10x power to give you any opinion.
    "L'enfer, c'est les autres"

RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2015
    Email some detailed photos to Litespeed and ask them.

Can you catch an edge in the area that looks like a crack?

Los Barriles, BCS, Mexico
    I think you’re looking at a shitty weld. The cracks I’ve seen in titanium weren’t at the welds like in your pics, they were across the welds and often around the circumference of the tube.
    Trying to cram the rest of my life into the rest of my life!

RoadBikeReview Member