RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2007

What standards to go with on a custom frame?

Hi guys. I'm a hobbyist frame builder with about a half-dozen frames behind me. Although i ride a lot of road miles, my road bike is >10 years old and i totally don't pay attention to the road world; i'm a mountain biker. I'm also a very tall/fit clydesdale.

This new bike will be used for 30 mile spins, centuries, dirt roads, commuting, novice singletrack, minimalist touring, fast group rides... you name it. I don't need the best, but i'll ride it a lot and for many years.

So, i really don't know much about what's going on with road cycling, but i want to build myself a new frame to replace my 2006 bianchi. I want shimano hydraulic disk brakes and at least a 1:1 low gear, but slightly lower is preferable. At the top i'd like to at least retain my 52-12.

So i just totally don't know what's up with 11sp, basically. It looks like some road bikes have adopted 135/142 spacing...? How does that play with road chainline? In the front i'm tempted to build a 15x100 rigid fork and use 29'er wheel parts... is there a good reason not to? In the rear i'd like to do 135 QR, but that's mostly because i have extra hubs, i like the format, and wouldn't need to buy any fixturing. Talk me out of it, please.

For drivetrain, it looks like by far the cheapest hydro option is a 105 group with really ugly shifters (rs505). The 2 reviews i read were full of hate, but typically 105 is alright and shimano hydros are all the same... so i'd love your opinions.

Looks like the latest generation of ultegra offers an 11-34 cassette. Are there any 'gotchas' when pairing it to the previous generation stuff? I assume i'd want the latest generation ultegra RD to play nice with it. I'd rather run a MTB rd and cassette, but it looks like shimano killed that with 11sp...?

Really anything you have to say to me is helpful, i appreciate all comments.

Russian Troll Farmer