Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member

What would you get if you were me? Emonda vs Domane vs ??? for my riding style...

Hey Everyone! I haven't been around for a while. I used to post in these forums a fair bit years ago.

Short Question: I'm seeking opinions and advice about whether to get an Emonda SLR or Domane SLR to replace the trusty bike that I've been using for the past 14 years. I was 35 when I purchased that bike; I'm pushing 50 now. This next one will be my ride for the next decade or more.

What do you think?

Longer Background (skip if you'd like):

Even though my posting traffic may have slowed, my riding hasn't! I do around 1-2k per year, largely recreational with a good amount of hill climbing here on the Wasatch front. A typical ride will be 25-50 miles. Rarely do I exceed 70 miles in one ride, but I have done a century here and there.

Last summer I decided that maybe it's time for a new ride, and I've spent while considering options. I've been on a USPS Trek 5200 that I purchased new in 2003, which has seen some upgrades over the years, but remains a really great ride. As you can see from the pic, its been upgraded to DA 7800, and I have some nice-ish carbon wheels too (not shown), but I must say the stopping power is not the best which is why I find myself putting the aluminum rim back on from time to time. lol. I want my new bike to have disc brakes. (I'm not really seeking opinions on this, I've seen the debates, but if you must, go ahead and try to talk me out of it, lol.)

Over the past 14 years, my gearing has moved from 53/39, to 50/39, and then to the current 50/34, which works pretty well for me with an 11-28, although I am looking forward to trying the new-ish DA 11/30 or even the Ultegra 11-34 (gasp!).