Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Anphaque II

Question nOOB Questions On Campagnolo Groupset

I'm a life-long MTB'er and have never owned a road bike.

I'm building my first road bike this season and have questions regarding road bike groupset (Please remember I'm a nOOB!).

Since I've never owned a RB I don't have any time with how RB shifters feel/work/ etc.:

1) Will I have any problems if I just get the Campy groupset without any experience with the groupset (Or any RB groupset for that matter)?

2) I'm looking at the Record groupset. What kind of lifespan can I expect from the the Campy CF? I don't and won't race, I'll put between 2,000 to 5,000 miles a year on them, I'll ride in the rain, and I'll do more than half my riding before dawn.

3) Should I compare Campy to Shimano?

4) Should I try to test driver Campy first?

5) Any general or specific differences between Campy and Shimano? Should I care if there is?

6) Can I run a Campy triple crankset with any of their shifters?

7) Names of recommended/trustworthy Campy dealers in the U.S.?

8) Are all Campy cassettes interchangeable (Ex: Record groupset with Centaur cassette)?

9) Any other advise on Campy that I haven't covered but need to know?

Thanks much!
    America's greatest threat: Congressional liberal Democrats

Crimes Against Humanity: The History of The Democrat Party

Hucken The Fard Up !
    Quote Originally Posted by cda 455 View Post
    I'm a life-long MTB'er and have never owned a road bike.

I'm building my first road bike this season and have questions regarding road bike groupset (Please remember I'm a nOOB!).

Since I've never owned a RB I don't have any time with how RB shifters feel/work/ etc.:

1) Will I have any problems if I just get the Campy groupset without any experience with the groupset (Or any RB groupset for that matter)?