RoadBikeReview Member
    Mar 2011

Route Recommendations North of Toronto

I am new to road biking, and I am linterested in recommendations for good roads and routes to ride on north of Toronto (I am based in Woodbridge). Here is what I am most interested in:
    1) Smooooth surface.
    2) Nicely paved smooth shoulders.
    3) Not too busy for the most part.
    4) Not too many traffic lights or stop signs.
    5) Some gentle rolling hills.
    6) Some scenic portions with lots of curves and trees.

So far my favourites are Teston Rd from Kleinburg to Weston, Weston from Teston to 9, Jane from Teston to 9. I haven't explored too much other areas yet.

Roadbike Rider
    You could head up Humber Station Road into the Caledon Hills. The further you ride the better the roads get. Also good is Holland Marsh, Keele N of King City and Pine Valley.

If you want a group I know there is one that goes out of Islington and Rutherford. They do 80km rides and up. They avg. about 28 kph.
    "It's supposed to be automatic, but actually you have to push this button. "
    John Brunner (Stand on Zanzibar)

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2011
    keep going north
    when you get to lake simcoe turn around.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Mar 2011
    Thanks for tips Chainstay. I'm going to try and get from Woodbridge up Humber Station, this weekend (weather permitting). Yes, I forgot Pine Valley is one of my favourites, and it ends up near my house. Only problem is Rutherford at the bottom end is really bad. My personal favourite is actually westbound on Teston Road from 400 into Kleinburg. The rolling hills there are just perfect.

I would try joining that group ride from Al Palladini Centre, but I need to get my fitness and speed up a little (averaging only 26kph solo right now).

RoadBikeReview Member
    Mar 2007
    Hello, we are starting group rides from Jane & Langstaff, going north. You could tag along when we hit Teston rd. We meet at 9 on Sat's & leave by 9:30.