RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2013

Cannondale Supersix 105D Carbon Road Bike - Fair Price?

Hi All!

I am very new to road bikes. This summer will be my first triathlon.... I hope to partake in some recreational road races in the future as well. And join a bike group in my area. With all that being said I think a road bike at this point is more suitable (I will add aero bars)... Thoughts?

I found a used Cannondale Supersix with Shimano 105 listed for $1400 in a 54 (my size). Just wondering if this is a fair asking price?

SPecs:
    105 Shifters/Rear & Front Derailleur
    FSA Gossamer Crank
    Shimano RS-10 wheelset
    Specialized Toupe+ Saddle
    Tektro brakes

I am also looking at a cervelo eyre listed for $850 - this is a tri specific bike. But the seller doesn't know much about the bike other than it has shimano ultegra gear parts.

Any perpectives would help!

Last edited by samaro; 06-02-2013 at 06:12 PM.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2005
    If, and this is a big IF, the bike is absolutely perfect, and fits you, then it could be worth $1200 plus or minus.

Look closely at the tire wear, brake pad wear, rim wear indicator, measure chain if possible, cables, cassette, etc.

If you have to replace the tires, chain, cassette, brake pads, saddle, bar wrap, cables, etc., then you might as well buy new ...... because $1400 + cost of the aforementioned replacement parts is going to put you in the price range of a brand new bike, or higher.

Since you are new to road bikes, I strongly suggest meeting the seller at a bike shop, and have the bike inspected.

Or better yet, watch for a sale locally, and get fitted on a new bike, and enjoy the process of buying something new. I honestly think the enjoyment and piece of mind that you get buying new is worth a little extra money. Sometimes, it can be cheaper in the long run too ...
    Last edited by morgan1819; 06-03-2013 at 06:32 AM.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2010
    As for the Cevello,