RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2012

New rider about to purchase used Cannondale CAAD4 Help

Hi everyone!

I'm very new to cycling, but am about to pull the trigger on a used bike from a friend of mine. The bike is a Cannondale CAAD4 frame and the components are all Shimano 105. The tires on it are also fairly new. I can tell is has been really taken care of and I am really enjoying riding it. He's asking $450 and I just want to make sure that it isn't too much. My plan is to ride this for a while and if I really get into the sport I can get something more expensive and then use this as a backup.

RoadBikeReview Member
    The obvious question is "how does it fit you?"

That stem/bar/lever setup is hurting to my eyes. Together with the saddle position, it looks like the current owner doesn't like the fit too much.

Looks like nice wheels.

These are solid frames. 25mm tires help the ride.
    There's sometimes a buggy.
    How many drivers does a buggy have?

One.

So let's just say I'm drivin' this buggy...
    and if you fix your attitude you can ride along with me.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GekiIMh4ZkM

RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2012
    It fits me perfect being a 58cm bike and I'm 6'2. The previous owner was a tad too short for a 58cm (which it is) so he's going to be going to a 56.

I actually had someone help me adjust it for my body and the set up isn't nearly as awkward. I'm just very new to real cycling as opposed to spin class and wanted to see thoughts on the price for this frame and components.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2010
    that is a weird set up.
    Flip the stem and level the bars and hoods.

Go ride hard and a lot!!!
    It's a fire road.............
    I'm on a road bike..........

They have enough in common to blast down it.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2012
    The bars and hoods are now level, that was my bad when trying to fit myself for it. What does "flipping the stem" accomplish?

fu