RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2013

Cramp in hamstring? help.

I've recently gotten a chinese carbon frame build and pretty much got it set up as best as I can. The bike had tri bars, but I replaced them with regualr drop bars. I am not 100% sure on my bike setup (fit), but I'm sure I have it very close. My saddle height is correct. The frame is a large size (can't remember the cm off the top of my head, but that fits me and is also what I ride on in MTB.

I do not ride clipped in because of a leg injury. I ride on platforms.

When I first started riding it, my boys (aka reproductive organs) were getting numb mid ride. I tilted the saddle down slightly and corrected that.

I was riding a loop that was 6 miles. After this, I noticed a slight ache in my left leg hamstring..the very back of my leg directly in the center between my waist and knee. I started riding a longer 10 mile loop the other day, and when I got home on both occasions my hamstring was cramping like crazy...Not sure what might be causing this. Low potasium was my first thought -but I eat a banana almost every day so I don't think it should be an issue.

Details on the injury..A motorcycle accident has resulted in several orthopaedic operations to my right leg. I only have 20% of my calf muscle remaining. My ankle is fused at 90 degrees, and does not bend at all. I stil ride with the ball of my foot on the pedal, although it doesn't quite give me the force exertion on the pedal that my left leg does. I have full range of motion in my left leg because it is normal with no injuries. My right leg does just as much work, although I am sure it doesn't put out quite as much power as my left. My quad is noticeably larger on my left leg than right.

For what it's worth, I don't get this cramp after prolonged MTB riding.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2011