BIGchainRING

cycling and leg length

I always marveled at the pro bike features on the internet that had the riders measurements. The latest one I read was a rider 1.85 m tall with a saddle to BB center measurement of 79.5 cm.

The reason why I marvel is I am 1.86 m tall and have a 82.0 cm saddle to BB center measurement. I always assumed I had long legs.

Today, I found a forum for leg lengthening (who knew such a thing existed?) where it was suggested to measure your leg length to see how 'normal' you are.

The computation takes inseam and divides it by height.

I did mine and found I have a 49% leg length to height ratio. The average is 45%.

My question is do my long legs help me when riding a bike? I am not a great cyclist, but I have been riding for many years and commute by bike daily. One thing I have is plenty of power when needed. Do long legs help with this?

Also, does anybody know if any of the cycling greats had abnormally long legs? I guess I still have dreams of being an awesome rider; just not a climber.

thx

Happily absent RBR Member
    Quote Originally Posted by centurionomega View Post
    I always marveled at the pro bike features on the internet that had the riders measurements. The latest one I read was a rider 1.85 m tall with a saddle to BB center measurement of 79.5 cm.

The reason why I marvel is I am 1.86 m tall and have a 82.0 cm saddle to BB center measurement. I always assumed I had long legs.

Today, I found a forum for leg lengthening (who knew such a thing existed?) where it was suggested to measure your leg length to see how 'normal' you are.

The computation takes inseam and divides it by height.

I did mine and found I have a 49% leg length to height ratio. The average is 45%.

My question is do my long legs help me when riding a bike? I am not a great cyclist, but I have been riding for many years and commute by bike daily. One thing I have is plenty of power when needed. Do long legs help with this?