Thread: Front knee pain

RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2009

Front knee pain

Hey
    So I've been riding for a few years, have never had knee trouble before. all of a sudden in the past two days, my left knee has had a painful twinge in the front towards the bottom of the kneecap. It hurts when I walk upstairs, downstairs, significantly bend my knee, and sometimes when i pedal. Three days ago my cleat came loose so I took it off to tighten the base (I have speedplay pedals) and maybe I put it back on different, that is the only thing I can think of. Anyway, I 'm just wondering if this is serious. I tried to move my cleat but not quite sure where it was before. I'm icing a few times today. Also I have a race tomorrow. What do I do to make this go away??? I don't want to end up getting a chronic injury. Or am I overthinking this?

thanks.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2005
    I had a similar knee pain when I got a new bike. I tried lifting the saddle higher, but it didn't really help. What helped in the end was moving the cleats back about 1 cm. The knee pain went away and I could lower my saddle to a more comfortable position.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by kallee
    I had a similar knee pain when I got a new bike. I tried lifting the saddle higher, but it didn't really help. What helped in the end was moving the cleats back about 1 cm. The knee pain went away and I could lower my saddle to a more comfortable position.
    So once you changed your cleats it just stopped hurting? Did you have to take a few days off the bike?

RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2005
    I did not take any time off, but I wasn't riding every day anyway. The pain slowly went away. After about one week there was no trace of it.