RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2014

HR zone performance feedback

Link to HR training zones:

Determining Your Heart Rate Training Zones

I am 69 years old, 65 and 215 pounds. Im pretty fit. I've been riding for many years. This year Ive been riding until a couple of weeks ago 100-150 miles a week with a weekly average of 4-8k elevation. I usually ride three times a week. Did a couple of centuries last month.

My resting average HR is 50 and my maximum cycling HR is at least 175.

I recently bought a good HR monitor. (I last used one briefly five years ago.) I normally rely upon self biofeedback with segment times. I know my body pretty well and have a good working knowledge of physiology especially on the practical and personal level.

No matter where I ride or how long on most rides I toss in a specific category 3 five mile 4 percent average grade climb. (Ive climbed it over 80 times.) The canyons distinct characteristic is it starts out almost flat and very slowly gains grade the entire distance to the end when it has a steep finish.

Today I decided to go out and give a max effort watching my HR while doing so. Conditions were ideal.

From the very beginning of the climb after an attacking start I then settled into trying to maintain the best rate. My HR except for the steep end was between 152 and 164. On the steep finish it hit 175. My overall time was 49 seconds off of my PR.

I lost most of my time, about one minute, on the last 1.7 miles of the climb. On that stretch I was never gassed or struggling but I could tell while riding it my power level or strength was below optimal.

Im conversationally coherent of the subject of HR training zones but have never applied my self to learn them and utilize them as part of a training regimen.

Based upon the info Ive provided what constructive feedback or info do you have as relates to my performance on this ride including anything related to HR and zone training or pace info.

Thanks.