Thread: Miles per week?

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2011

Miles per week?

I've decided I'm going to start a new training regimen to get in really good shape. And I mean top shape that I have time and energy for.

I'm just starting out and I'm not in that great of shape, which means that I won't be able to benefit from as many miles as I would when I am in better shape. But I want to start out at a high intensity for my physical condition.

I want some help developing stages of training. There is plenty of hillwork to be done around here. I have Mt. Lemmon, for one, and some hilly terrain all around.

I know I need to simply be on the bike longer and go at pretty brisk paces, but I'm not quite sure about what I'm doing exactly.

corning my own beef
    as a beginner, you may be best served to simply concentrate on spending more TIME in the saddle. Mileage is relative, increasing the time you spend on the bike is the easiest way to begin seeing progress. If your longest ride is 2 hrs, can you stretch that to 2.5 or 3 hrs? Only you can judge what "scale" to start on. It's possible that right now, a 1-hr ride is all you can manage. But for now, simply concentrating on increasing that time will serve you well.

Proper nutrition, rest and recovery will help also.
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

People who say, "Laughter is the best medicine.." have never been on the receiving end of a morphine drip..

ноожеяз ай вщоw?
    -VaughnA

A fool and his money were damned lucky to have bumped into each other in the first place.

Wisely Inconsistent
    Don't worry about miles at this point. Instead, mix up your workouts with some super intense stuff (the hill repeats) and some really easy recovery rides. If you try to make every ride a big miles powerfest, you might end up at a very long plateau.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2011