RoadBikeReview Member

Riding a lot and staying "fit"

Hey all, so until I started riding consistently, I was a gym rat for about 3-4 years. When I was in my early 20s, I was pretty chunky (not in a good way) at 5'11" 36-38" waist, 220lbs. I got a hold of myself and cut down to 155lbs and barely a 32" waist in about a year and a half, and then spent the better part of 3-4 years lifting and bulking up, not to ugly proportions, but enough to look fit and toned. At my peak, I was 175lbs with abs, was able to bench 225 and 245lb sets no problem, pullups I could basically do to the point I got bored before I got tired.

Once I started riding, I changed my 2-4 days a week at the gym routine to 1, and I don't really go consistently anymore either. Now, while I may or may not have more flexibility on the bike, my composition has suffered, and while I can still lift the same weight as before, it's not nearly as many times, and I feel like I have shrunk a little.

I know some people will tell me to just go ride and enjoy that and forget lifting, but it's still something that's important to me and my self esteem, since I am always worried about going back to my old chunky self. A friend of mine told me that my muscle loss is probably due to my slowed gym routine, but more-so due to the fact that doing long rides and cardio like this is that muscle is burned away.

So, has anyone here successfully been riding 100mi/week while maintaining their muscle definition? I don't necessarily want to get bigger, I'd be happy being where I was a few months ago, but as far as maintaining my figure lifting, but also not lifting so much that I can't be on the hoods of my bike comfortably. Should I perhaps be bringing more food with me on longer rides so that my body doesn't resort to burning muscle?
    2016 TREK Emonda SL6: Boyd Altamont/Conti GP4000S ii
    2015 TREK FUEL EX9 29": where stock doesn't = suck

RoadBikeReview Member