RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2012

New Colnago Master 30th

I recently purchased a new Colnago Master 30th in AD04 (art decor black). It is being built with Campagnolo Chorus 11 speed. I'm really excited. I've been riding carbon for the last several years but I'm making a return to steel. What's the best way to protect the beautiful finish? Wax? Bike Lust? Something else? Nothing?
    Thanks in advance for input.
    I'll post pictures when the build is complete.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2011
    I have a Master Extra Light in yellow, and YES you should protect the frame in particular the chain stay from being nicked from chain slap. Very bad dings to chrome if you do not cover it with something. Also, I put lizard skin clear sheets on down tube to protect paint from front tire rock spray, A MUST. Also, wax rest of bike so clean up is easy and paint has a film of protected wax on it. In my opinion the paint job is to nice not to do this. I realize its just a bike, but hey it's COLNAGO MASTER! One last thing, try to keep dry chrome does rust. My bike has only seen rain 2 times by mistake and was thoroughly taken apart and dried and cleaned right away.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2012
    Thanks for the info. I'll apply clear protective strips to the chain stay & underside of downtube (I hadn't thought of that). Colnago recommends a bike polish such as Bike Lust. Any thoughts?

Hors Categorie
    Jan 2005
    You can use lemon Pledge. The spray kind in a can. The wax does wonders. You can also use Meguairs Ultimate Spray Wax but it costs more at $10 per bottle (and it is well worth it and it is what I recommend). Any other automotive spray wax would also work, but I use the good stuff. These keep everything ultra smooth. To clean, I wipe with wet cloth, and then WD40 and then wax.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2011