RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2012

20-35 mile rides in S. Los Angeles - Orange County

I live at the crossing of L.A. and Orange Counties. I am recently new again to road cycling after a multi-decade hiatus. Over the past year, I have come up with a couple great 10 and 15 mile rides (with variants) which include a combination of parks and bike-friendly roads. But, now I'm looking to find more challenging loops. Other than the Seal Beach path and the Anaheim to Huntington Beach path (which can be arranged as 35 mile RT rides), do any of you from this area have any loops or ride paths to recommend? Or any sources to recommend (online links, etc.) from established rides? Safety is important.

(Particularly thinking of areas around Whittier-La Habra-La Mirada-Fullerton-Brea etc.)

RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2012
    Sounds just like me. I'm also new to road biking, long time MTB, Just did the Santa Fe Springs to Seal Beach round trip last weekend. Did the Anaheim to Huntington Beach RT several weeks before that. If you need a ride partner/group, let me know. I'm in Whittier/La Habra/La Mirada as well. See ya on the trails.

That said, I'm also looking for longer runs now as I'm feeling stronger. Wilderness Park to Encantado Park in Duarte roun trip is 45 miles. Done it once. Personally I prefer the river trails because I have a personal aversion to riding in traffic (childhood trauma).

For MTB, I love/recommend the Carbon Canyon trails... goiing up Telegraph trail with about a 4% grade for several hours just to turn around for a 20 minute down hill run is still a lot of fun. Not road bike friendly though, A hybrid or MTB with drifters is perfect though.

jrm
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Dec 2001

Heading that way

this and next month and bringing a bike. Found a good source for ride ideas from the OC wheelman sites saturday - sunday route sheets with rides begining in costa mesa irvine and tustin

The Orange County Wheelmen (OCW)

EMR
    RoadBikeReview Member