RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2004

Thoughts on light and motion vis 360

I just got a $500 gift card to REI for our wedding, and I was thinking of getting the
    light and motion vis 360 so I can commute to work. I already have an old school nite rider dual beam, but I don't use it as it is so bulky. But I do have a nice JET light, that I would use on my bars. I just don't know if buying this light is stupid, and my wife is going to ask WTF? But I'm thinking that I could also use it on evening rides if I don't commute to work. I'm a Resident and I have to be at the hospital at 6am, and I don't leave until 7, or 8 or 9pm. So I think I'll commute 3 times a week, and it would be nice to have light that was visible and that could be used on my nice bike that I don't commute on.
    Or should I buy a nice flash light from REI and just secure it to my helmet? I'd rather go with the L/M VIS 360 though.

Thanks.

RoadBikeReview Member
    First the bad. I own this light and I had to send it back for repair for this annoying habit of having something akin to a hiccup when it has less than full power. It shuts off and then back on about every two minutes. The "repair" didn't work which makes we wonder if this is just a bad design or just a defective light. I need to send it back but it is 25 dollars to send it back (I live in Canada). At the same time this light was sent back I had another L&M light die which they replaced. The new light has a wonky charger and works 50% of the time. So three L&M lights and three problems. I have decided to cut my losses and be done with L&M. I will use the lights until they die and then buy something else.