RoadBikeReview Member

Trail maintenance, with assistance

I commute most of the year, but generally avoid days when there's snow or ice on the roads (so I miss a few weeks most winters here in New England). I had been off the bike for about 3 weeks recently. When I started riding again week before last, I encountered an obstacle on a stretch of park path (most of my commute is on roads, but I use a couple of miles of MUT through some parkland along the Connecticut River). A small tree had blown down in one of the storms, blocking about 2/3 of the path width. I threaded my way around it, and figured park maintenance people would get to it soon.

That was on a Friday, and the tree was still there Monday, so Tuesday I undertook my civic duty and strapped my little folding pruning saw to the bike rack, and cut off enough of the tree to clear the way.

Today, almost a week later, as I approached the spot I saw that the tree had been cut back further, and the cut sections removed, so I figured the park people had gotten there at last. But as I got closer, it didn't look like a clean cut, and I finally realized that this was the work of a different sort of cleanup crew.
    Trail maintenance, with assistance-beavertree.jpg
    So I guess I could have just waited a week and let the beavers take care of things.
    "Lay me down like a stone, O God, and raise me up like a loaf." Platon Karataev, War and Peace Book XII

RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2014
    Looks like hatchet cuts, no?

RoadBikeReview Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Migen21 View Post
    Looks like hatchet cuts, no?
    At first glance, but on closer examination, definitely beaver. There's a characteristic concave shape to the cuts they leave, and evidence of their toothy-work is very common in the area.
    "Lay me down like a stone, O God, and raise me up like a loaf." Platon Karataev, War and Peace Book XII

RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2014
    Beavers won't be denied.

RoadBikeReview Member