RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2013

1970s Reynolds 531 Raleigh Road Bike

Hi everyone,

I'm new to cycling and have just purchased my first bike--a 1970s Reynolds 531 Raleigh. I went with an older, more affordable road bike because while I hope to stick with this, I didn't want to break the bank getting something brand new. Anyway, I've ridden this bike a few times already and have enjoyed it, but just wanted to get some advice/feedback from the forum regarding the bike I purchased. I have no idea about maintenance, how to make adjustments, etc. And I'm still just barely learning how to shift gears on this guy. So, I would really appreciate any tips or advice on just overall use of my bike! Thanks!!

Here are the specs as given to me by the seller:

Raleigh Super Course MKII
    made in the Carlton factory, England
    seat tube center to center 53cm (21)
    top tube center to center 56cm (22)
    standover height 31 (79cm)
    chainstays 43cm, wheelbase 103cm

new Jagwire brake cable and housing
    new Jagwire derailleur cable and housing
    new Jagwire brake pads
    new brake cable hanger
    new blackwall 27 tires
    new Bike Ribbon white bar wrap
    upgraded Shimano 105 aero brake levers

Normandy high flange hubs & Rigida alloy rims, Nervar alloy cotterless crankset, Suntour Vx front & Huret rear derailleurs, Suntour clamp-on downtube shifters, Weinmann & Universal centerpull brake calipers, 75mm GB stem & alloy drops, vintage Unicanimex (Cinelli Unicanitor rip-off) from Mexico saddle, MKS quill pedals

Photo:
    1970s Reynolds 531 Raleigh Road Bike-bike.jpg

User is infamous around