Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2017

Anyone riding a 52/36 + 11-32 Cassette?

Hey guys
    I have 52/36 with 11-28 cassette and was torn between which to replace to tackle some nasty hills here in Thailand .. Long story but I've got an 11-32 cassette and going to try it with the semi compact...
    Does anyone ride this? Is there much difference to an 11-28 in the middle cogs? I read changing gear from 28 into the 32 is a bit of a clunker?
    I could always get compact chainrings later when I've saved money (oval rings when i start laying diamonds) ... I'm new to cycling.. It seems I do need to start laying diamond eggs quite soon!

tlg
    RoadBikeReview Member
    If you live in a hilly area, 52/36 doesn't make much sense.

What drivetrain do you have? Need to know the capacity of your RD to know if you can run 52/36 + 11-32 . That's a 37T capacity. Which can technically be done with Shimano 11sp with GS RD.
    Custom Di2 & Garmin/GoPro mounts 2013 SuperSix EVO Hi-MOD Team * 2004 Klein Aura V

RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2010
    I used to run 11-25 cassettes with a 53/39 standard crank. I ordered a 11-28 by mistake, but put in on. I found I liked it and have continued using this combination

I should note that I started riding in the true 10 speed day where 2 and sometimes 3 tooth gaps were not uncommon. You just had to know when to make a double shift to get the right gear inches.

The gaps have not bothered me

RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2017
    Quote Originally Posted by tlg View Post
    If you live in a hilly area, 52/36 doesn't make much sense.

What drivetrain do you have? Need to know the capacity of your RD to know if you can run 52/36 + 11-32 . That's a 37T capacity. Which can technically be done with Shimano 11sp with GS RD.