RoadBikeReview Member

Buy individual tools, or a cheap kit?

Have a chain breaking tool and a torque wrench, thats it. Bought new wheels and want to try and install them myself. I know I need a chain whip and the cassette lock ring tool. I want to learn how to do as much as I can myself, and most likely get a workstand.

Should I just buy the tools I need as I need them and buy Park or better tools?

or

Should I buy a cheap kit?

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by Dcmkx2000 View Post
    Have a chain breaking tool and a torque wrench. Bought new wheels and want to try and install them myself. I know I need a chain whip and the cassette lock ring tool. I want to learn how to do as much as I can myself, and most likely get a workstand.

Should I just buy the tools I need as I need them and buy Park or better tools?

or

Should I buy a cheap kit?
    I'm a newbie and will add on if I may - what all tools should someone have to be able to work on your bike? I'm like the OP in that I want want to learn how to do as much as I can.

A cheap kit has cheap tools. Cheap tools suck ass. They also tend to destroy things.
    Buy quality tools as you need them.
    Other countries need to stop hatin' or we'll unfriend them. - Christine

Apparently I left my reading comprehension glasses in my ass. - DrRoebuck

Still, it felt great and I felt like I was sitting on some kind of vibrator -Touch0Gray

Resident Curmudgeon
    Nov 2005