Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

Carbon Steerer Expander Plugs?

18K views 17 replies 10 participants last post by  merlinluvr 
#1 ·
Hi all
How about some collective advice with regard to carbon steerer tube expander plugs?
I've just bought a replacement carbon fork for my Specialized Allez. The new fork has a carbon steerer tube and I now need to buy an expander plug to allow for setting of the pre-load on the headset bearings.
I'm new to carbon steerer tubes and would appreciate your recommendations for an expander plug. I'm interested in your reasons for your preference as there seems to be a number of designs available, varying lengths, materials and construction.
Haven't been able to search any concise thread on this so hope to create one here.
Appreciate your response!

#5 ·
Try a Columbus "Gap Cap"...

jefflyng said:
Thanks Battaglin, appreciate your reply and take your point regarding generic forks. I should have stated that my new fork is a Specialized Carbon 4; maybe someone can tell me which plug Specialized used as original equipment with this fork?
I don't know what specialized use but I have the columbus "gap cap" in 3 carbon steerer tubes (despite the name it's a compression plug). They have a knurled outer surface that prevents slippage in the steerer tube without needing heaps of force, and they're 45mm long which gives a bit more support inside the steerer if you want to move your stem up and down a bit. Highly recommended.

see this from columbus' website - scroll down to "Gap Cap"

http://www.columbustubi.com/eng/4_2_1.htm

#6 ·
Thanks Armchair, thought the Colombus Gap Cap looked like a good option from what I've seen of it.
It certainly appealed because of its length. It looks more capable than most I've seen of resisting any crushing forces on the steerer tube ( due to pressure from the stem clamping bolts I presume).