RoadBikeReview Member
    Dec 2011

Carbon Ti titanium skewers,yay or nay ?

Yes,itís that time of the year again (birthday incoming) and wife told me ď ok what bike-ish present you need this year ? ď . So,I do like the idea of finally having those skewers but the more Iím aging the more iím becoming OCD about safety,thatís why I trust my brick like heavy Fulcrums QRs. Still,those Carbon Ti are sweet,been drooling at them for a while. Front one will go trough open/close quite often for bike loading.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2018
    I've been using them for a few months and I don't have anything bad to say about them. They're so small they're a bit fiddly compared to sturdy skewers like Shimanos but that's expected. The rear one developed an annoying creak that was easily cured with grease. And the clamping force seems adequate enough. Now, are they worth the price? Probably not, but you can say this about many bike- related things

Sent from my LIFETAB_P970X using Tapatalk

'brifter' is a lame word.
    They have an external cam...bad. The skewer is Ti...bad. The lever is tiny...bad. Ever wonder why wheel companies like Zipp, Enve, and Bontrager don't supply super light skewers w/ their wheels? Waste your wife's money on something that won't possibly kill you if it fails.
    I work for some bike racers
    I've got some bikes, some guns,
    and a bunch of skateboards

RoadBikeReview Member
    Spend your wife's money on a date night out at a restaurant. You'll get more joy that way and less frustration.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Dec 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by cxwrench View Post
    They have an external cam...bad. The skewer is Ti...bad. The lever is tiny...bad. Ever wonder why wheel companies like Zipp, Enve, and Bontrager don't supply super light skewers w/ their wheels? Waste your wife's money on something that won't possibly kill you if it fails.

M'kay,looks like she's gonna be massive facepalm over that Assos jersey price then..