Thread: Chain

RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2018

Chain

Newbie here folks. Currently (and the foreseeable future) on a Giant Defy 2. Only been riding for about 9 months. Basic question.... How long does a stock chain last? Mileage wise. Rode about 2,000 on my current one.

Russian Troll Farmer
    It lasts until it's elongated to between .5%-.75%.
    "L'enfer, c'est les autres"

'brifter' is a lame word.
    To quote Kerry, 'how long is a piece of string?'
    I work for some bike racers
    I've got some bikes, some guns,
    and a bunch of skateboards

xxl
    Quote Originally Posted by Giant331 View Post
    Newbie here folks. Currently (and the foreseeable future) on a Giant Defy 2. Only been riding for about 9 months. Basic question.... How long does a stock chain last? Mileage wise. Rode about 2,000 on my current one.
    The mileage expected from a chain varies so much across riders, due to riding conditions and maintenance practices that it's hard to give a ballpark estimate that couldn't easily be off by a thousand miles or more, so the go-to test is to get a good ruler (metal ones are favored), and measure 12", starting from any chain pin; at the 12" mark, a new chain will have a chain pin exactly 12" away from whatever one you started on. As the chain wears, this distance increases, and at about 1/8" "extra" length, you should get a new chain.

There are tools made to measure chain wear, but there are lots of folks who don't think they work well (do a search on "Park chain tool" and you'll see the arguments), and most would agree that the ruler method works.
    More Americans wanted Hillary Clinton to be President than wanted Donald Trump.

Donald Trump has never had a wife he didn't cheat on.

RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2014
    Generally speaking if you wait until shifting is poor you waited too long. Keep your chain clean and lubed and it will last longer.