Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Mar 2018

Chain dropping off right side of cassette on downhills

Sorry to come on here and post a new thread first up, but been struggling with a solution for the first time ever. I've been maintaining and self building bikes for over 20 years now. Mechanically minded.

But I got a new 11 speed Shimano ultegra cabled synapse at xmas, and from the off on descents if I hit a bump then the chain seems to get thrown, and then it gets caught between the frame and the cassette at the back so you can't rotate the crank either forward or back, so need to dismount and pop it back on. I've checked the limit screws, and tried moving in, slightly out, but seems to keep coming down to a lack of tension in the chain.

Zipp Course 30s that spins forever when in the stand, so not freewheel stiffness. I'm running the wide rear cassette 11>32 that came with it, and 52-36 front rings. Note that this is throwing on 52-11. When on the 52-32 cross chained (only in workstand, I don't ride cross chain) then there seems to be plenty more slack in the chain, the jockeys aren't vertical (as suggested for 28 or less) but about 5 o'clock.

So my take is a lack of chain tension, but having been back to the bike shop twice with it and them saying chain is right length, I'm giving them the benefit of the doubt. And of course it's not a problem that can be replicated in the workshop.

So any suggestions.

Many thanks in advance to all that offer suggestions. Never needed to ask for help with wrenching before, always used to be the other way....

RoadBikeReview Member
    Doesn't sound like chain tension if it does it in 52-11 and not 36/11. It's a long cage derailleur I assume? If you are in 52/32, how much slack in links can you create by pulling the derailleur forward?
    Moderation is boring - do epic s##t

Trek Domane
    Niner RLT9 (Gravel Bike)
    Trek Crockett

RoadBikeReview Member