RoadBikeReview Member

Change Apex 50/34 compact to double?

Is there any problem with changing the compact chainrings that come on a Specialized Secteur Apex Compact to a double (53/39) chainring set, or is it a simple swap?

Not a rocket surgeon.
    You chain may likely be too short but it can be done no problem. Change either the chainrings or the entire crank. It's up to you.

RoadBikeReview Member
    I'm new to roadbikes, and am going to order that bike as my first.

I live in the flat prairies of Canada, I'm wondering if I should have it changed to a double. Will bike shops do that on a new bike?

Not a rocket surgeon.
    You may get a discount on a new crank. The Apex dosent come in a traditional double so you will like have to upgrade and pick up the difference.

Why do you need to change anyway?

Compacts move you along fine in everything except the fastest of group rides.

'brifter' is a lame word.
    unless you think you'll be spinning out in a 50/11 (and i bet you won't...every woman on the team i work for uses a compact and i doubt you'd be beating any of them in a sprint) there is really no need to go standard. the difference between 50/11 (123") v 53/11 (130") is so small it's not going to slow you down. go for the upgrade if you want to spend some money on nothing, but the compact isn't going to slow you down any.
    i work for some bike racers...
    2013 Trek Madone 5.9 w/ '12 SRAM Red
    2010 Cervelo T1 sprint bike
    Ruger 10-22TD
    Smith&Wesson M&P 15-22
    Smith&Wesson M&P 9
    oh, those belong in another forum

RoadBikeReview Member
    Thanks, that's what I was looking for!

Younger in mind than body
    Sep 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by fenderf4i View Post
    Thanks, that's what I was looking for!