Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2008

The Click From Hell

Basically all clicks are from hell....mine seems to be from a deep part.

Bike: Blue Prosecco EX Di2 carbon, 14 months old.
    Click started 3-4 weeks ago.
    Always clicks when drive side pedal is near the top. Doesn't always click in the exact same spot ...sometimes clicks twice on same pedal stroke.

So...I checked all the obvious places:
    Bottom brkt..a bit loose..tightened
    Cr bolts...tight
    Derailleur attach..tight
    Der. hanger...fasteners a bit loose...tightened and greased mating surface
    Cassette lock ring...tight
    Pedals..tight

Next day's ride after 5-10 miles click gradually got quieter. After about 15 no sound. Stopped for a bit with the group for a break. Click returned when I started riding.

Took bike to LBS...mechanic said he could duplicate sound (with out pedaling) by heavily shifting his weight back and forth on the saddle.

At his recommendation, I lubed the seat post (carbon assembly paste) and the internal seat binder w/lithium grease.
    After all this, the click remains.

Got a loaner saddle and tried that...no luck
    Installed mtn bike pedals....click still there.

Perhaps I'm missing something???? Anyone have any ideas?

RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2013
    Have you scanned your brain for the proto molecule?
    BANNED

RoadBikeReview Member
    Quote Originally Posted by cjbigcog View Post

Always clicks when drive side pedal is near the top. Doesn't always click in the exact same spot ...sometimes clicks twice on same pedal stroke.

Cr bolts...tight
    Derailleur attach..tight
    Pedals..tight

Next day's ride after 5-10 miles click gradually got quieter. After about 15 no sound. Stopped for a bit with the group for a break. Click returned when I started riding.

Took bike to LBS...mechanic said he could duplicate sound (with out pedaling) by heavily shifting his weight back and forth on the saddle.