RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2010

converting an old shimano 600 2/8 to brifters?

I've been googling for about two days, but i still have a couple of question. I'm new to bikes so I'm still in the learning process. I have an old road bike that I really like, but I dont like the shifters on the downtube because I live in a very hilly area w/o any flats spots. It seems like I spend most of my time shifting so I want some brifters.

It looks like sora 8/2 brifters would work for me. I might be able to get away with a sora 2/9 using a tip from sheldon's site.

Maybe a Tiagra 9/3 set would work also? I'm just searching for a cheap way to get brifters

Here is an interesting problem, my rear derailer is indexed, but my front is friction. is this a problem?

Thanks
    Nick

Number 2 on the course.
    How about bar-end shifters? Not as convenient as integrated shifters, but likely cheaper.

Low Idiot Tolerance
    Jul 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by SinnerDC2
    Here is an interesting problem, my rear derailer is indexed, but my front is friction. is this a problem?
    The shifters are indexed (well, the rear is), derailleurs aren't indexed (well, Positron is, but that's irrelevant).

The derailleur takes its instructions from the shifter. The front can be friction because it only has 2 positions, it's either in the big or the small ring.

Older Sora is about the only "recent" 8sp that I can think of at the moment, and that's nothing to write home about. Hunting eBay for second hand 8 speed brif... shifters (I can't say brifter, sounds too "elbow patch" for my liking) would likely net you some worn out sloppy old shifters unless you snaffled some new or low mileage ones. Bit of a lucky dip.

I'd go 9 speed shifters and swap the cassette to 9 speed, the rear derailleur won't care how many sprockets are on the cassette provided the maximum teeth capability of the derailleur is not exceeded. You'll need a 9sp chain as well.

Grumps

RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2010