RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2018

Headset conversion from cage bearings to cartridge

I am new to road biking and the site and I'm looking for info on converting a (low cost) caged bearing headset to a cartridge style. I have a 2017 Giant contend and could not locate and model specific info on Cane creek's site or the FSA website. Any info would be greatly appreciated.

hfc
    Doesn't like subtitles
    It is unusual to have to replace a headset on a one year old bike. Do they even used caged bearings on new bikes now? If you need to replace the bearings, take the old cage out, take it to the bike shop, ask for a similar replacement. As an alternative you can ask for loose bearings in the same same size, add one ball to take of the slack from the cage.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2002
    Quote Originally Posted by Stevieray05 View Post
    I am new to road biking and the site and I'm looking for info on converting a (low cost) caged bearing headset to a cartridge style. I have a 2017 Giant contend and could not locate and model specific info on Cane creek's site or the FSA website. Any info would be greatly appreciated.
    Think this through. A cartridge bearing cross section is roughly square, often with chamfered edges. This fits into a matching space in the frame. There is no bearing race in the frame when you have a cartridge headset. When you have a ball bearing headset, the upper and lower cups are pressed into the head tube and when removed, you see the open end of a simple tube - no place for a pressed in cartridge.

If you don't like having caged ball bearings, then figure out what size you have a buy enough to fill the upper and lower races. You can also buy high quality ball bearing head sets.

'brifter' is a lame word.