AKA: Sheila Muirenn
    May 2009

Hydraulic rim brakes for Cross bike with cantilevers?

I keep thinking I'd like to find out if I can use road disc brakes with my new CAADX cantilever brake bike. Just discovered these from TRP, they are supposed to work with all road and cross cable systems!

TRP

What does everyone think?

Sounds amazing, but almost too good to be true.

Wonder what size rotors I'd need? It's the 105 CAADX from 2013. Got a smokin' deal.

RoadBikeReview Member

Hydraulic rim brakes for Cross bike with cantilevers?

It's an interesting idea. Isn't trp also doing some box on the stem where the cables pull on the resivour ?

Either way, interesting idea. Very clean.

Bill

May 2009
    No idea, I'm not a mechanic, just want good brakes!

RoadBikeReview Member
    Mar 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by aureliajulia View Post
    No idea, I'm not a mechanic, just want good brakes!
    You should talk to a mechanic then. I really like your idea!!

May 2009
    Well, I will, but didn't really want to call him on the weekend!

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2011
    I have a pair going onto my bike as i type. Hopefully I will pick the bike up on Wednesday and give a breif openning review.

i am running 160m disc's

May 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by bob.satan View Post
    I have a pair going onto my bike as i type. Hopefully I will pick the bike up on Wednesday and give a breif openning review.

i am running 160m disc's
    Great! What factors determine whether you need 140 or 160mm discs?

Idiot at large
    Apr 2010
    I keep thinking I'd like to find out if I can use road disc brakes with my new CAADX cantilever brake bike. Just discovered these from TRP, they are supposed to work with all road and cross cable systems!

TRP

What does everyone think?

Sounds amazing, but almost too good to be true.

Wonder what size rotors I'd need? It's the 105 CAADX from 2013. Got a smokin' deal.