RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2013

I Want to move levers closer to bar

I'm fairly new to road riding, but up to riding about 3 times per week, close to 100 miles per week. I have the bike very well fitted but find one more detail I would like to adjust.

I spend most of my time with my hands on the drop bar, and in group rides, like to keep a finger on each brake lever. My hands are on the smaller side and the levers are a little too far away. The shop told me that the spacer is already installed and they have never looked into moving the levers closer then that, but will see what they can do.

The bike is a Fuji Altamira with 105 shifters

wim
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2005
    Try adjusting the brake calipers so the brake pads not as close to the rim as they are now. That introduces more free play into the levers, allowing you to pull them closer to the bar before they actuate the brakes. As long as the levers don't hit the bars during a full-out panic stop, the pads are close enough to the rim.

If you can't do that with the adjusting barrel on the brakes, you will have to loosen the brake cable clamping bolt, reposition the brake cable slightly and tighten that bolt again.
    Last edited by wim; 06-26-2013 at 08:00 AM.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Dec 2006
    Shimano offers 2 sizes of adjustment blocks for their STI levers.

If you're lucky, you currently have the 5mm version and ordering the 10mm version will solve your problem. To help the shop quickly order the correct part, bring the part numbers from the above linked page with you.

It's item #11.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2013
    Thanks, I was told :The 5mm spacers are already in there" Perhaps they are not aware of the 10mm spacer.

Thanks Again

'brifter' is a lame word.