pmf
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2004

New chain and cassette at 4000 miles?

I usually get more life out of them than that (this is Campy Chorus 11-speed). I keep my drive train pretty clean. Could the chain ring really be toast after that short of a time? I rarely ever replace chain rings.

I'm kind of new to Campy. I'd been riding Dura Ace 7700 for years -- that stuff lasted forever.

'brifter' is a lame word.
    Quote Originally Posted by pmf View Post
    I usually get more life out of them than that (this is Campy Chorus 11-speed). I keep my drive train pretty clean. Could the chain ring really be toast after that short of a time? I rarely ever replace chain rings.

I'm kind of new to Campy. I'd been riding Dura Ace 7700 for years -- that stuff lasted forever.
    Seems really odd that you'd wear out a chainring in 4000mi. How worn is the chain? Campy chains will generally outlast Shimano by quite a margin.
    I work for some bike racers
    I've got some bikes, some guns,
    and a bunch of skateboards

RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by cxwrench View Post
    Campy chains will generally outlast Shimano by quite a margin.

Even comparing 11 speed to 9 speed?

I've never used Campy Chorus 11 or 7700 9 speed chains but 4000 miles on a chain sounds fairly ordinary to me. Actually about double what I get out of a current Shimano 11 speed chain.

I seriously doubt your chain ring is even close to toast.

pmf
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2004