Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2012

Rear derailleur broke - whose fault?

So I'm pretty new to road biking. I bought a bike from Bikesdirect a few weeks ago, had it built by my local bike shop, and prior to tonight, had gone on precisely 2 (short) rides.

Tonight, I decided to bike to a soccer game (where I ended up spraining my ankle - what a night!), when my rear derailleur just sort of ... catastrophically failed.

I was biking at very low speed, as I was just working my way through a bunch of traffic lights. The chain was in the middle of the cassette, and I was in the middle chainring on my triple. All of a sudden, I heard some "crunch" noises and the rear wheel starting locking up. When I stopped, here's what I found:

Hi-res image: http://i.imgur.com/2QtNk.jpg

So - what the hell? The hanger appears to be bent, but other pieces appear to have just basically snapped off.

Who's likely at fault here? Is this a component problem that might be covered by warranty? Did my LBS screw something up? It seems like this sort of thing shouldn't happen on my third-ever ride, especially when I wasn't riding hard or anything...

Input much appreciated.

-------------------------------------------------

UPDATE:

I emailed bikesdirect and they got back to me in a matter of hours. After looking at my pictures and reading the description of what happened, they agreed that the chain was likely the culprit. They are sending me a new derailleur, hanger, and chain.

Not bad!
    Last edited by rover19; 03-28-2012 at 11:47 AM.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2009
    Too many unknowns. Usually RDs break like this when shifting to low and overshifting into the wheel. However you say you were in a middle gear so that rules out that cause.