RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2017

Removing rust from cassette and derailleur - beginner help

Hello!

As my name suggest I'm a beginner when it comes to bike maintenance. Anyhow, I want to derust my old bikes cassette and derailleur (possibly even the bottom racket), but before I do that I would like some pointers on how to do it and what tools I might need.

Here's the bike: https://m.imgur.com/a/8rTqd

I was thinking about soaking the components in vinegar, alternatively, just give everything a good scrub to get rid of the rust.

I have another bike as well that's even more rusty, in order to fix that one I would have to dissasemble the whole bike.

Thanks!

Forever a Student
    use a torque wrench

RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2017
    Would vinegar be ok to use on the derailleur or would I have to disassemble it to remove the plastic parts?

hfc
    Doesn't like subtitles
    Evapo-Rust is great stuff. It is made for removing actual rust, but I have soaked corroded and dirty aluminum parts like derailleurs in it and it cleans up nicely. If that is a cassette, I would also use Evapo-Rust but would not do that if it is a freewheel as the bearings would get jacked up.

In general for cleaning up hubs and other aluminum parts, I clean with some form of cleaner or WD 40, then some Mothers aluminum polish to shine it up. This is a pic of a Campy FD and RD that was pretty corroded and I soaked them in Evapo-Rust. I take it completely apart and lube everything up when it goes back together.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Removing rust from cassette and derailleur - beginner help-img_7304.jpg  

RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2017
    Can't I just remove the ball bearings from the freewheel then? And would vinegar melt the plastic on the derailleur? Not sure if I can find Evapo rust from where I'm at. Are there any substitutes?

Thank you!

hfc
    Doesn't like subtitles