banned

Review: Origin-8 Torq Lite Brakes

I've been testing the Origin-8 Torq Lite brake calipers for a couple of months now. They are almost identical to the Feather 199 calipers. The main differences, as far as I can tell, are that the Feathers are machined out a little more, and the center bolt is a little different. The pads, holders, general shape, and other hardware are the same. Feather has a claimed weight of 199 grams for the pair. Origin-8 has a claimed weight of 220 grams for the pair. The difference is, Origin-8 weighs them with the nuts installed and the cable clamping barrel on the scale as well. Also, as mentioned, the Feathers are machined out a slight amount more.

The other difference... The Feathers retail for $399.99 (according to their site; $349.99 on sale at the moment) while the Origin-8 Torq Lites retail for $250-$300.

Here is the Torq Lite installed on one of my bikes:

Here's the Feather brake:

As you can see, they're very close. Do I think they are actually the same brake? No. I think Origin-8 copied them and - in my opinion - made them better. How so? These things stop like nothing I've ever ridden.

First, the stats:
    Me - 290 pounds of gravity-challenged Clyde.
    The bike - 2006 DBR Podium3 w/Aksium Race wheels and Michelin Pro3Race tires.
    The course - Wabash River Cycling Club's Wabash River Ride. 67 miles of crappy roads, short 3-11% climbs and long 5-12% downhills.
    Experience - Well, I've been a bike mechanic for years. On my personal bikes I've used Dura-Ace, Ultegra, Record, Centaur, DiaCompe/Cane Creek, Zero Gravity, and Tektro.