RoadBikeReview Member
    Mar 2013

Road break/shifters on track bars?

Hi,

Total bike newbie here. I bike to and from work, currently on a road bike with standard drop handlebars.I would like to use more rounded track bars, partially for comfort and partially because they look awesome.

Is there any reason I would have issues mounting my breaks on a more curved set of handlebars? (example: http://www.probikekit.com/us/compone...andlebars.html )

Thanks!

wim
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2005
    Not sure about road break/shifters, but you can certainly put road brake/shifters on that bar. But because of the downward curvature when looking at the bar from the side (not shown in the ad), you have to mount them fairly low on the bar so you still reach the brake levers when your hands are on the drops.

Also, the tops of the bars as seen from the front (shown in the ad) have no flat section. This means if your hands are on the tops, they will tend to slide down constantly towards the low-mounted brake/shift levers. You can counteract that with a tight grip or by riding on the drops all the time.

In short: while these bars may look awesome, they're awful for your intended use. I'll give you about four weeks of commuting before you put your old bars back on and ebay those "track" bars.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by wim View Post
    Not sure about road break/shifters, but you can certainly put road brake/shifters on that bar. But because of the downward curvature when looking at the bar from the side (not shown in the ad), you have to mount them fairly low on the bar so you still reach the brake levers when your hands are on the drops.