Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2010

Semi-Synchro and Synchro-Shift together?

I just started playing with Synchro and Semi-Synchro shift on my DI2 setup. I don't see any compelling reason that the two modes must be mutually exclusive. Is there some way to have both functions active together?

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2014
    Quote Originally Posted by kestrel242 View Post
    I just started playing with Synchro and Semi-Synchro shift on my DI2 setup. I don't see any compelling reason that the two modes must be mutually exclusive. Is there some way to have both functions active together?
    Short answer: no; it's either one or the other.

Longer answer: full synchro mostly includes all of what semi-synchro does. That is, when the system, while in full synchro, decides to shift up front it will offset at the rear the same way that semi-synchro does. In addition, while in full synchro you are free to shift the FD manually on your own, whenever you wish. The one thing "missing" from full synchro is that when you shift the FD on your own while in full, there is no offset at the back.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2004
    I'm actually not that clear on how useful semi mode is in use. I understand that when you manually shift the FD the system figures out where you were in terms of gear inches, (or whatever) and moves the RD to the next "harder" gear. I think.

Full Syncro makes sense especially if you set it up to the desired shift points. Thus if you are in the small ring and running down the cogset (11-23 in this case), rather then use the 11 after the 12, you set it up to go big ring and up to the 17 cog. Or wherever you set it. Or you stay in the big ring to the 21 cog, then the next shift to an "easier " cog goes small ring and R down to the 14. That makes sense to me and thus full essentially means you don't "need" the left shifter.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2014
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve B. View Post