RoadBikeReview Member
    Mar 2012

Shoe/Pedal Advice for beginner. Shimano RT82 Touring Shoes??

Hi, I would like some advice on road bike shoes and pedals. I'm still a beginner and am using regular pedals with my regular shoes. I have wanted to put on proper pedals and use proper shoes for a while now but the fact I can't walk in the shoes throws me off. Is it a bad idea to put Mountain bike pedals on a road bike? The max distance I ride is about 50km at a time. I do ride daily and currently have a an entry level road bike.

I was looking at the RT82 Shimano and they look like road bike shoes but my understanding is that the sole is different. Would getting these with a decent pedal cause me any problems on a road bike? Do you think it would be a lot better then what I have now (regular shoes)?

Is there any other combo that would be better, more similar to proper road bike shoes/pedals or should I just get proper road bike pedals and shoes?

Thanks

RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2012
    It isn't a bad idea at all and many people do it. If you are not racing and doing more commuting then a mtb shoe probably makes more sense.

Figure out what you plan to use your bike for and tailor it for that use.

RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2012
    That looks like a decent road/touring shoe. Specialized also makes a nice road/touring shoe. Some decent pedals to goes with either are the Shimano A520.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2009
    RT82's are great shoes. Consider the A530 pedal.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2013
    they look like a nice shoes. I ride the shimano a520 pedals on my road bike, and a shimano mtn pedal on my mtn bike. I can't recall the model right now. I use one pair of shoes for both bikes. If your going to ride long distances,(50 miles or more at a time)be sure to get a mtn shoe with a stiff sole, this will help prevent getting hot spots on your feet.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Mar 2012